Throw back Thursday

I have been thinking a lot of the first few quilts I made.  I thought here I have been sewing all my life, so what is the big deal about quilting?  The first quilt was just alternating squares and I embroidered randomly on it.  Easy….Hahaha. I learned the lesson of NEVER say “easy peasy”.

My next quilt was for my son.  I went to the Public Library and got a book on quilt blocks.  I read the minimal directions and thought, “Ok I will make the bear paw”.   Some how every block I made had to be added to or cut down to be able to piece the quilt top.  I was learning and it WASN’T as easy as I thought.  I got the thing together. A friend told me I needed to give it a name.  Damn Thing was not an acceptable title.  So that Christmas my son got “Trials and Tribulations”.IMG_1092.JPGI was hooked.  I had to figure out what I was doing wrong and correct it.  Thanks to Youtube, friends from work, and many visits to my 1st Saturday Sewing Group who offered many suggestions and books I am always looking at ways to incoarporate something into a quilting project.

Our house is filled with quilted something or wood something and we wouldn’t change it a bit. Quilting has become such great therapy.

Thank you for visiting this one crazy quilting fool.

 

2 thoughts on “Throw back Thursday

Leave a Reply

