Happy Fall

The air is so crisp outdoors and as I walked to the car I was ankle deep in leaves that have fallen from our oak tree that is out in the front yard.  I woke this morning to the sound of something hitting my house.  After looking around I found the critter who woke me up out of a sound sleep.  Mr. Squirrel knocking the last of acorns out of the trees.

I have my bread dough rising to start making apple, poppy seed, and sausage  kolaches.  I will be making cinnamon rolls with this also. While waiting for the dough to raise I have an afternoon of baking cookies for the family Thanksgiving Morning.  We have a brunch planned so the kids can go to either work or their families homes for the afternoon and evening.

My days will be filled with music, baking, candy making, and sewing.  I just love this time of the year.

What are your favorite things for the up coming Holidays?  I think for me it is watching everyone enjoying each other, laughing and joking.  This year a 2 yr old running around again will be wonderful.

9 thoughts on “Happy Fall

    1. I must start by saying I don’t use regular sausage links for my sausage kolaches. I use the little smokies. To start I use my basic bread dough
      2 beaten eggs, 1/2c sugar, 1 1/2c milk, and 1 stick butter. Heat the milk and melt butter. Add beaten eggs to cooled milk mixture and add sugar.
      In a small bowl mix 1 pack of yeast, 1/4c warm milk and 1 tsp sugar. Set aside. Mix into the liquid about 2c flour. Now add the yeast and then add 3 cups of flour and kneed. Let rise.

      For the sausage kolaches I take a small amount of dough and wrap it around the sausage and let rise. For the fruit kolaches I shape the dough in the shape for a dinner roll and make a well in the middle of the roll. I fill with pie filling. For the poppy seed, I follow this recipe. 2 c poppy seed, 1 c milk, 1 1/2c sugar, 1tsp lemon, dash of salt, 1 tsp lemon zest. Put into a pan and simmer about 10 min or until thick. Let cool and place in the rolls. Brush the rolls with an egg wash and let rise then bake at 350 till done. This was the recipe my mother used. Don’t know how authentic it is.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The Kolache Factory in Katy, Tx also has opened a few bakeries around the US. There may be fairly close to you. I grew up in a small town in SE Texas and my sister in law taught mom to make these. I love them. Yesterday used 4 packages of little smokies just for the sausage.

        Like

Leave a Reply

